Is the Lord’s arm too short?

The LORD answered Moses, “Is the LORD’s arm too short? Now you will see whether or not what I say will come true for you.” – Numbers 11:23

We often tell others that we’re thinking about them or that we’ll pray for them – and we do usually think about them and we will say a quick prayer for them. Our prayers though can sometimes be nothing more than a wish list – a list of people that we hope will be cured, people we hope will be comforted, for direction in our life, for our family’s protection, and mercy for our shortcomings. But…do we really pray secure in the knowledge that God is truly sovereign and able to do all things? This of course doesn’t mean that He will grant our requests – for our will and comfort often isn’t the best plan.  We also don’t have the foresight that God has in working His will. Sometimes it’s best to just acknowledge our selfish prayers to God. Jesus prayed if it be your will, take this cup from me. Paul prayed to be free of his thorn in the flesh. David prayed for the destruction of his enemies.

So what about your prayers? My prayers have been selfish at times. I’ve prayed for deliverance and for mercy. I’ve prayed for healing and comfort. The key is to stay focused on these truths:

1). God knows more than me – way more

2). God knows me better than I know me

3). God doesn’t owe me – I owe Him

4). Our self-inflicted pain from our free-will helps us to see how desperately we need Him

5). God can do all things – but He has the right to choose if & when…I do not

6). My prayers should always be focused on His will, His authority, His power, and His love

7). My prayers should never doubt the length of His arm or the depth of His love

 

 

Leave a comment