Remembering Jim Wilson

I had the privilege to work with Jim Wilson from 1993 until his retirement four of five years ago. Jim was the rare individual who had achieved the difficult balance of being a technical master of his trade and an extraordinarily gifted mentor/coach. He literally “wrote the book” for CPAs specializing in personal financial planning. I think it was more like four books and he co-authored a fifth one with one of our firm’s partners…yes, literally “wrote the book” (as well as the platform for a software program). For me and many others in our firm, he provided wisdom, professional guidance, and opportunities for growth. It was Jim who first introduced me to the field of Business Valuations which is now an area of specialization for me. My first exposure was creating excel spreadsheets relating to landmark court case calculations.

Although I have fond memories of working with Mr. Wilson on a professional level, the things I will always remember about him are the following:

1). We was an avid student of Christianity…I don’t know that I’ve ever encountered anyone with such a grasp on all the various denominations and the doctrines of all the major denominations

2). We was an avid student of politics…those of us with an office near to him listened to Rush Limbaugh every day

3). He was always available and never too busy to give guidance in any way

4). In addition to being available, he was one of the most approachable individuals I’ve ever been around

5). I also don’t recall ever having a sense that he was ever stressed about any situation…he even whistled while he worked (although I know he attributed some heart stints to certain clients)

6). He worked because he loved it…not because he had to – while I don’t remember exactly the date or year he officially retired, I do remember that he was still working on a limited basis when he turned 80 (his last book was published when he was 79)

He truly was a great example (professionally and personally)  for many in our firm and in our community and his influence will be felt for many more years at BCS.

2 thoughts on “Remembering Jim Wilson

  1. What a beautiful memory of Jim. Everything you said is so true and more. He truly was a wonderful Christian, mentor and friend. I visited him at the Village a few days before he was hospitalized and again at the hospital. He still had his sharp mind but it was so sad to see his physical body quickly leaving.

    I really enjoy your blogs. You do a great job expressing your thoughts and feelings.

    Like

Leave a comment